• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Student needs help to pay off tickets

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

johnnychan

Hello, I am a fulltime student attending university in Nova Scotia, Canada. I am not sure if I am writing this in the correct forum.

On my first night living in my dorm room, I got drunk and at around 1 am I went outside for a cigarette and brought a glass of beer with me. Upon leaving, there were 2 cops there and they called over to me and I proceeded to pour out my beer. They saw this happen, and began to yell at me and claim I was going to get ticketed. In my drunken state, I got angry at the cops and began to tell them I didn't think what they were doing was fair. Eventually I ended up being hand cuffed and taken to the drunk tank for the whole night. I would like to point out that I wasn't actually that drunk and by the time I got to the police station I was basically sober. When I was arrested I was about 10 steps away from my dorm and I still don't understand why the cops couldnt just let me return to my residence. While everyone else in the tank was either passed out or yelling beligerantly, I was calmly sitting counting down the seconds until I was let out.

Anyways, I also got a 120$ ticket for being drunk in public and a 450$ ticket for having alcohol in public. Obviously, 600$ is a huge sum of money for a full time student to pay.