• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Suing a lawyer

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

I AM ALWAYS LIABLE

My further response:

Here's an actual, honest to God, story about a similar circumstance that, after you read, you'll say, "Hey, I wasn't hurt so bad after all."

Before I started practicing law in 1980, I clerked for an attorney by the name of Eugene Bambic. He had been a "past President" of, and get this, the California Trial Lawyers Association. He was a wonderful medical malpractice attorney, and everyone admired him. He was good. No doubt about it. If you had a malpractice claim, Eugene was the man to see. Even other attorneys used his services. That's how good this guy was.

Anyway, what few of us knew at the time was the Eugene had 4 prior wives, with 8 minor children, with varying ages, from all four short lived marriages.

He had Spousal Support payments and Child Support payments that would "Choke a horse." We're talking tens of thousands each month.

Well, business wasn't doing so well for Eugene. Not that he was out of business, but there was a definite downturn. He couldn't "crack the Support nut" each month.

He had a woman client who had a Federal claim based upon a Navy doctor's medical malpractice due to a sloppy brain surgery performed on her 5 year old child. The child was rendered severely brain injured as the result of the botched surgery.

So, because of his money problems, he went ahead behind Momma Bear's back, and settled an otherwise multi-hundreds of thousands dollar case (probably worth in the mid 6 figures) for a paltry $50,000.00!