• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Suing over property that both parties paid for

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

edub187

What is the name of your state? Maryland

Hey there. I'm new to these forums, but hopefully someone out there can help me out. My situation is this:

I dated this girl for almost eight years, after we met in college. While in college, she lived at my house without paying rent or bills for almost two years, since at the time I was working and going to school, as was she, but I was making significantly more than her. When she graduated, she bought a house back home in MD. I graduated six months later, and moved in with her. I lived there rent-free (but paid utilities) for about five months, until I found a steady job. While we were living at her house, me paying half the "rent" (which was actually the mortgage that she will get back once she sells the house), we split a really nice, brand new wide screen flat panel tv. I put in $2000, she put in a little over $1000.

When we broke up, we were came to an agreement (both parties) that there was no need to move my stuff out right away, since I was having trouble locating a premanent place for myself and my stuff, and she had led me to believe we would be getting back together.