• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

utility

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

sucmanh

Hi,

Here's my situation:

I have a 12-month lease. In the lease, it states that Renters will be responsible for utility. Utility includes electricity, heat, phone, cable. It is a 4-bedroom apartment. I share the apartment with other 3 people. However, each of us has an individual lease with the Landlord.

I graduated and left for the city. I still have 6 month on the lease. Of course I still pay the rent every month. For the electricity, even though I don't physically live in the apartment anymore, I still pay 1/4 of the bill.

We also subscribe to have enhance cable TV and high speed internet package. I think since high speed internet and more cable channels is merely entertainment, I shouldn't have to pay 1/4 of the bill any more. My reason is this: the fact that I refuse to participate in the cable/internet deal at the very beginning and just now should not make a difference. If I had refuse to participate in the beginning, they (the other 3 roommates) would have come up with a package deal that they can afford. If I wish to stop be part of the deal now, they would simply downgrade their service to the one that they can afford.