• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Web Designer wanting to sue in small claims

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

mrsdubya

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? IL

Happy New Year! I am a web designer in IL. I have a contract with a client for web design services for the total amount of $1600. I normally charge 50% of total project fee upfront before any work begins. The client was leery about paying 50% upfront so she requested the following payment terms:

First payment: 20%, or $320, upfront
Second payment: 30%, or $480, for mockup
Third payment: 50%. or $800, at completion

The client paid the $320, approved the proposal, and signed the contract, thus work began. We set a deadline for mockup submission to be on December 20, 2012. On December 18, 2012 I emailed her the completed mockups for her review. She requested updates which were completed and she approved on December 26, 2012 and asked that I begin coding the website.

Per the contract payment terms, she was to submit the second payment of $480 once she received and approved the mockups and before coding on the site was to begin. The client then refused to make the payment stating "I can’t pay for a site at 50% completion without having something online. That means I would essentially have paid $800 for pictures. That is not going to work."

Client already new what a mockup was (a visual representation of her website in .jpeg or .png form) as this was outlined in the proposal that she approved. I also explained the definition of a mockup in various telephone conversations prior to beginning.