• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

WebDesigner Gets Nothing...

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

PoorWebDesigner

What is the name of your state?Texas

I live ouside Houston, and I have some friends that own a performance automotive shop. I am a WebDesigner by trade, and work for Yahoo! Merchant Soloutions as a Supervisor of Tech Support. Basicly, we provide technical help for e-commerce customers.

August 2004...
I was talking about what I did for a living with my friend, lets call him Bob. He said, "Do you think you could make us a website like that?" I told him that I could and that it would be a fun project...

I built them a product catalog with more than 2500 items for them to sell in thier new ecommerce store, when I was finished, I approached bob about payment, I asked him if he would build a custom turbo kit for my car (est. value $3,500) he agreed and we began to select the products that we would use. He told me that they could not purchase anything until the shop had some money because they were broke, I said that was fine and went on with fine tuning the store on a day to day basis.

November 2004...
I still was recieving calls from them to come and fix email issues, or to modify things in the store, pricing and what not, So I again approached Bob and asked him about the turbo kit, and what the status of that was. He basicly avoided the question and said something about the different bills the shop has and how much they were, I once again shrugged this off and went on with assisting them with my knowledge.

January 2005...