• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Who do i go after?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

B

BADRAP

What is the name of your state? California

My question is this I am a freelance graphic designer and I was Hired around the first of the year to do a project for a corporation.
I gave them my estimate and told them I need a third up front to start the work. The person who was hiring me (One of the owners of the company) gave me a check for the third up front to start the job.

I started the job immediately now three months later he fires me and wont pay me for my time. the job is done and would have been done two months ago but I could not get him to give me alot of what I needed to finish it all. text photos ect. and still has not. So what I need to know now is who do I sue or take to small claims? Him or the corporation. I'm only asking this because the check I recieved to start was from the guys personal bank account not from a company checking account...

thank you in advance to anyone with my answer.

B

BADRAP

Anyone anyone?

Come on anyone?

Ok I think I should serve the guy not the corporation yes? or no?

I would like to do this asap... Thanx

B

BADRAP

OK. How? Do I have to get each served seperately or together?

And how much can i ask for from each? Do I split the total owed

between the two. (corporation & the guy) or do I ask for the

total owed twice? I dont think that is right is it?

thank you

JETX

"Do I have to get each served seperately or together?"
*** Each party is served independently.