• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Discontinue SSI Benefits Without Representative Payee's Permission ?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

1213llache

How Can I Discontinue SSI Benefits Without My Representative Payee's Permission ??

I Have been recieving ssi benefits for several years now for a disability and a family member is my payee. However I have just finished school and I want to discontinue the ssi right away before I even start working. I no longer wish to be on ssi. I was told I have to have my payee's permission and knowledge in order to terminate ssi benefits and that the payee needs to be present with me for the paperwork to be done. I want to know how I can discontinue benefits on my own by myself without my payee's permission since my payee still wishes me to recieve benefits even though I disagree. I was told to just start working then the benefits will just stop on it's own time Or to just go through the ticket to work program. However, I would like to just stop benefits all together right now since I no longer feel eligible. How can I do this by myself without my representative payee's permission ?? I am over 18 (20s) and capable of taking care of myself and of working. My Payee has no legal gaurdianship over me. I reside in the state of california. How can I Do This By Myself Without My Payee's Permission or knowledge ? since the payee still wishes me to recieve benefits.

tranquility