• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Do I have to adopt a dependent grandchild for eligiblity for SSD on my work record?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

thernsn

I am a Florida resident that is on social security disability. I have sole custody of my granddaughter. There is no identified father for the child and the mother is mentally ill, non-complaint, drug dependent and a safety risk for the child. I had custody of the child from 14 months to 5 years when the mom had a fairly normal spell and sued me for custody. I was told at that time that she had provided evidence that she was in counselling and was properly medicated so I would not win the case. She resumed custody but over the years I stood by to provide a safety net for the child. The mother was near eviction from apartments for failure to pay rent, had power turned off and no food. She was depressed, selling and taking drugs and physically violent at times. The child pleaded with me to take her from there and I did. I got her mother to agree to avoid legal fees that I could not afford. She was legally placed in my care in November 2007 but had been living with me since August. I applied for SSD for her as my dependent and was told that she was not eligible because I did not adopt her. Why should I have to adopt my daughters child?
I do not understand why she would be denied as I am providing all her medical, dental and living expenses. I have also provided her with counselling due to the situations in her life with her mother. At the present time she has no medical insurance. Thank you. I appreciate your help.

BL

SSA.GOV

Question
Can a child receive benefits on the record of a grandparent?

Answer