• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

I got no SSN and I get income. what to do?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

a.a.n

hello,

I am a language student - Chicago (on visa). came recently about 5 months ago. I work online with FOREX Online Foreign Exchange. the company which provide the platform in US and asked me to provide them with my bank account to transfer the money I earn from trading. the question is I dont have the social security number SSN. a friend told me those profit you make is taxable and I have to pay the tax. I am quite confused please tell me what should I do to secure myself and my trading.

many thanks

""hello guys,
hold on a second. I not breaking the law and I not asking to do so. basically my question formed to stay legal.

let me put more details:
-I am investing with my money with FOREX
-the company I invest my money with is (forex.com) looked it up
-I trade and play with my money (like stock exchange) but its online currencies trading
-sometimes losing my money or sometimes making profit. the question is this profit considered as income?? taxable income??

thanks guys for your answers""

Last edited:

FlyingRon

We can't explain to you how to break the law. You are not allowed to do what you are doing while under a student visa. Working on a student visa is specifically limited to things authorized by your school in concert with your studies.

As for paying taxes on the illegal work you've done, you apply for an ITIN. This is distinct from a SSN but as far as paying taxes serves the same purpose.
http://www.irs.gov/Individuals/General-ITIN-Information

LdiJ