• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Misuse of Social Security Funds

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Jules886

So here's a situation.
I have been receiving my father's death benefits since January of 2013 and I am entitled to $40000 dollars under my name alone since 2013 and 2014. My mother, who was my previous representative payee, has spent $20000 on what she put on her yearly report as "beneficiary needs".
The funny thing is, she has barely provided anything. Period. She would rarely if never let me have general personal items including clothes or new shoes unless the current ones I had had holes or were falling apart. There is no tuition fee for the school I attend, I have never been to the doctor in the past two years, and I have been to the dentist 3 or 4 times in two years for regular cleanings only which are $80 per appointment.
When I moved out August of 2015, I have become the payee, but she has not told the SSA that I moved, she didn't tell them that she was no longer responsible for me, and she hasn't told them that she is no longer my payee. My mother has never told me that I would be getting any benefits at all, I had to find out all the information myself, and tell the SSA of my current situation.
She has obviously not spent $20000 solely on my well being. She has however made rather large purchases in recent years. First, she has spent money on a 7 day trip to Waikiki, Hawaii with her husband, who is not of any relation to me or my legal guardian, he has bought a new motorcycle. He has never just dropped a sum of money to buy a vehicle before and my mother has recently bought a 2013 Mazda CX-9 which is worth $19 - $20k.