• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

SSA Appeals Council - Shirking Duty?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

bobdep

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? California

I am not a lawyer, but helped a friend of mine with his SSI Disability claim. He challenged the ALJ's decision (a denial by ALJ #1) to the Appeals Council (AC). The AC sent a letter denying review, stating my friend had not submitted the additional evidence he said he would.
He had, however, sent a doctor's statement asking for an extension of time to submit medical evidence. He pointed this out to the AC.
The AC then sent a second letter, stating he had been granted an extension of time and that no action would presently be taken on his case. The medical evidence was submitted, and the AC sat on the case for over a year doing nothing. My friend filed a new SSI claim, using the original onset date, and was immediately approved--but beginning with the date of the second SSI claim.
He appealed the onset date by filing a Request for Reconsideration. After 17 months, the decision was that the back period covered by Claim #1 was already decided--res judicata--and it could not be reopened.
Appealing that decision to a hearing, after many more months the ALJ (ALJ #2) agreed with the Reconsideration decision, relying on the first letter of the AC, and disregarding the second one.
It was only after many more months that the US District Court overturned ALJ #2 and sent the case back to the Appeals Council for appropriate action, since res judicata did not apply.