• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

SSDI Overpayment

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Mkamel

What is the name of your state?What is the name of your state?
Washington, D.C.

Hello. My name is Morris and I have a question concerning social security disability payments. I am a computer programmer who has been on SSDI for about two-and-a-half years due to a stroke I suffered in 1999. I started a new full-time job nearly a month ago and am a little unsure if I should report this to the SSA. I spoke to a representative about a year ago and he said to wait until the SSA sends me an overpayment letter, but in other places I've read that the law says I have to do so right away. The reason I don't want to do so is because I have had several other jobs in my field the past three or four years and was forced to leave after a few weeks or months, and don't want my benefits to be stopped in case this happens again. Does anyone know if there is any sort of penalty if I wait until I receive a letter? Thanks.

Last edited:

inspiringmind

Tell Them

Mkamel said:
What is the name of your state?What is the name of your state?
Washington, D.C.