• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

SSDI & Self Employed Spouse

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

drench19

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)?
Arizona

Hello I have a question and some concerns. I'm a disabled Vet and receive both Va disability and ssdi. The Disability income is just enough to cover the basic bills and not much else. So my wife decided to start selling crafts and stuff online on site's like eBay to bring in extra income. She started off slow but now she is starting to make a decent amount of money.
We live in AZ which is a community property state.
I'm starting to worry that her business will impact my ssdi disability. I don't have any involvement in her business other than occasionally dropping some of her stuff at the post office when I go out.

Can someone please give me some advice as to how SSDI treats a spouses work activity and income when you live in a community property state?
Does her self employment income count towards me?
Is their anything I should do to protect myself? :confused:

Any information would be helpfull,
Many thanks

LdiJ

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)?
Arizona

Hello I have a question and some concerns. I'm a disabled Vet and receive both Va disability and ssdi. The Disability income is just enough to cover the basic bills and not much else. So my wife decided to start selling crafts and stuff online on site's like eBay to bring in extra income. She started off slow but now she is starting to make a decent amount of money.
We live in AZ which is a community property state.