• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

SSI income audit request ??

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Dan10

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? California

I've been receiving Social Security Disability since 1999, along with supplemental security income. My wife also gets SSI because of a disability and our two children receive a few hundred dollars for in Social Security. I am increasingly frustrated with the social security administration because it seems they can never get it right...ie It seems we are always being overpaid or underpaid. Right now we are paying off an SSI overpayment for a short-term job I worked back in 2007 (because they decided to audit us and sock us with an overpayment bill), eventhough my income at the time was reported to the social security administration, who knew exactly how much I got each month. Now we are being billed for "not reporting" my income at the time, because they claim they sent us a letter regarding the matter, and which we never contested of course be because we don't believe we got the letter.

Now they are telling us that they don't have a record of our last son that was born a little over a year ago even though we have been getting social security check for him. Who knows what repercussions that is going to have.

During my last review, the worker I spoke to wrote down that I've bee receiving 1000 dollars per month from a business I've been developing, even though I told him clearly that I hadn't made profit yet. I called the Social Security Administration and had to correct the issue. HOPEFULLY the correction stuck and I'm not going to be billed for an overpayment that did not occur.