• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

1180D speeding in NYS, 80 in 65

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

VADriver7

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? VA, ticket was in NY

1180D speeding in NYS, Otsego Co. 80 mph in a 65. I Am a VA driver.

It was a pretty straightforward event, so I think fighting it successfully would be difficult. So, I plan to ask for a Reduction in Charge, so would like to ask for advice on what’s best to use for the “Proposal” and “Reason(s)” section of this form: (http://www.otsegocounty.com/DEPTS/DA/documents/Application-for-Reduction-of-Charges-Feb-2009.pdf)

Should I just propose “request reduction in charge”? Or “request a dismissal upon completion of a driver improvement program here in VA”? Or “request reduction to a lower speeding charge or a non-moving violation?” or some other specific request?

I have a clean driving record – no convictions and +5 points. There is an “Accident” on the record from 3 years ago which was not my fault. The record also indicates that accident information does not indicate fault or no-fault. Do I need to explain this accident on the Reduction form?

Thanks in advance.

Maestro64

I was going to say NY will not care, they are only interested in you paying the fine, it is hard to plead a ticket down if your not willing to show up in court. However it appears that town is willing to cut you a break. It is probably worth a try, you have to look in the vehicle code to see what are the option available to reduce the ticket to and make the recommendation, at always worth going after a non-moving violation