• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Appeal for speeding ticket?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Bechdel06

I had a court date scheduled for yesterday but I got the dates mixed around and thought it was today instead. This is my first ticket so I am new to this court and appeal stuff. I called the magistrate's office and they said to go to the county courthouse and file an appeal. I was wondering if the appeal would be worth doing and if I still had a chance to get my points dropped even though I missed my first court date? If I do appeal, what would I say in court? Should I ask for a plea bargain or something to have the points dropped but pay the fine? I'm from PA also I don't know if they have different laws or whatnot.

Last edited:

davidmcbeth3

You may want to call about a trial de novo or to remove the default judgment... you have no reason to file an appeal to a higher court.

The time for bargaining is over .. you'll have to actually present a defense..

Bechdel06

Ok thank you for the advice. Who would I contact for the trial de novo or to remove the default judgment.. the magistrate's office or the county court house?

davidmcbeth3

And if one of those are accepted is there still a chance, do you think, that my points will be dropped?

I would think that if you missed a court date that the prosecutor is going to be willing to deal.

Call the court clerk and ask if she has a de novo form ... what state is the court in?

Wake up youngster ... you will be heading for trial....you should prepare a defense...