• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

California HP speeding ticket

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

lolly81

I'd like some advice on fighting a ticket.

For the record, I'm a very careful driver, and though I do speed, I try to keep it at 5 miles over, and always slow it down when I see that needle creeping up to 10 over. I know that this is, technically, against the law, but if you drive down any CA highway, you'd see that I'm right in the middle of the speed of traffic, and maybe even on the slow-poke end.

A couple of weeks ago I was on the 101 between Gilroy and Salinas, driving with mild traffic, when I was pulled over. When I saw the officer on the side of the road after a turn (and everyone else, including the car that was passing me, breaking), I checked my speedometer, which said 70. This section of road has a limit of 60, so I thought I was within a reasonable threshold...obviously not. The officer said I was going 73. He did ask me how fast I thought I was going, and I said 60 (meant to say 70, but I was nervous! might be a good thing since I've now never made a statement that I was speeding). He wrote me a citation for going "approximately 70" and sent me on my way.

I've just received the "courtesy notice" for $220. Given that I'm unemployed, and a warning would have been more than enough to deter me, I'm going to fight it, even though I think there's little hope I'll win. At least I'll make the system pay a little bit for my money :) Thankfully, being unemployed means I have the time to deal with this.