• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

California Point System

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

joe9828

Hello, I am a resident in California and have had a bit of bad luck this last month. Let me start from the beginning, I had received a speeding ticket in April of 09, went to traffic school, then received another ticket in May of 09. Therefore I am under the impression the point will stay on my record regardless if I had paid for the ticket or not (which I did). About a month ago I was sick, driving my girlfriend home, blacked out and had a seizure on the freeway and hit 3 cars. The DMV did not take away my license for 3 months, as I was told they should have, but still gave me 2 points on my record. Therefore I have 3 points, and was under the impression that if I had received another ticket or infraction, I would receive another point, and have my license suspended for a year. Well today I got another ticket (21752 (b) v.c.), yet the officer ran my record and said I have no tickets on my record and would be eligible for traffic school. I was under the impression I was going to have another seizure, therefore I sped up to pass the car in front of me just to pull over, because there was no room on the right, and the citing officer did not even put his lights on because I had already been pulled over and was throwing up. I've never had my license taken away and have never had more than 1 point on my record ever. Did the officer make a mistake by stating I was eligible for traffic school and will DMV suspend my license? Thanks in advance,
Joe

I_Got_Banned

The DMV did not take away my license for 3 months, as I was told they should have,