• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

California resident with speeding ticket, unsafe lane change, and no registration.

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

backontrack86

Hi, I am a California resident and last night, I received a ticket in the state of Nevada while I was on the way back to California from a vacation. I was cited for going 55 in a 45, unsafe lane change in front of an officer, and for no registration present in the vehicle. First of all, I was on the onramp getting up to speed and I had to merge out onto the highway soon or else I was going to exit back into the city again so I had my left blinker on and I merged to the left lane but I guess I did it abruptly and didn't think there was going to be a Nevada CHP in a SUV behind me. He caught up to the rear of my car pretty quickly as he was going at a much faster pace than I was. He quickly pulled me over, told me I was doing 70mph in a 45mph zone (paced me according to the ticket) but there's no way I was going that fast since I was getting up to speed on a onramp and the officer caught up to my rear right after I merged into his lane right in front of him. He later said he put down 55mph in a 45mph, which is the legal limit in which I can get a speeding ticket for. Then he cited me for the unsafe lane change violation and for not having registration present in the vehicle. I was driving my parent's car at the time and they forgot to put the registration in there but I have found the registration back at home so I'm not really worried about the ticket for not having registration present because I can just show them in court to drop the offense.