• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Can a visual estimate be the only confirmation of speed?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

K

kmsweb

What is the name of your state? Michigan

I had my informal hearing yesterday morning.

My question is, can a visual estimate be the only evidence needed to find you responsible for speeding? I thought that the officer had to verify the visual estimate with the radar.

I started preparing to fight my case from the day the ticket was issued. I have been driving for 10 years and have never been pulled over for speeding. I have zero points on my record. I believe I was going the speed limit and was the wrong car targeted. I was the first car up the hill on the highway and found an officer waiting, speed trapping, hidden from my sight behind the incline of the hill, he quickly threw on his lights, giving me time to stop adjacent to him, on the shoulder.