• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

case dismissed! How about my efforts?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Tob

I am a Kansas resident. This incident occured in Missouri. I have a good driving history. I was wrongfully ticketed for improper passing. I was about 150 miles from home. I opted to fight the charges. On my court date I took off of work and traveled to my arraignment. I pled not guilty. The court date was set for the following month. Once again I took off of work to go to court and absorbed the cost of lost wages and travel. I had worked very hard to prepare a case and felt extremely confident. When it was my turn to be heard, the lawyer and police officer excused themselves to the back room. The lawyer reappeared and announced that my case was dismissed! I was actually disappointed because of all the effort I had put into my defense. My question is, "Since this was apparently a trumped up charge, am I entitled to reimbursement for lost wages and travel expenses?"What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)?

Zigner

Senior Member, Non-Attorney