• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Caught driving with fictitious plates. Can someone help me with some advice?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

10edenguy

I live in NJ. I was driving tonight and was pulled over for not yielding to a pedestrian and then the police officer told me that my plates were fictitious since they belonged to an old car I owned. He then said my license was suspended as well and then gave me a fourth ticket for a broken tail light. I can't believe this happened. I'm not looking to make excuses. I would like some advice on what to do. I'm a student and make maybe 17,000/yr so my options are pretty limited.

Eekamouse

I live in NJ. I was driving tonight and was pulled over for not yielding to a pedestrian and then the police officer told me that my plates were fictitious since they belonged to an old car I owned. He then said my license was suspended as well and then gave me a fourth ticket for a broken tail light. I can't believe this happened. I'm not looking to make excuses. I would like some advice on what to do. I'm a student and make maybe 17,000/yr so my options are pretty limited.
If you want to keep on driving, pay your fines and get your license reinstated. It was your choice to drive on a suspended license. Your choice to put fictitious plates on your car. Your choice to not yield to a pedestrian. You may not have known your tail light was out but hey, that's why they call those tickets Fix It tickets. The other tickets you have nobody but yourself to blame for. Pay up. :D

FlyingRon

You may not have known your tail light was out but hey, that's why they call those tickets Fix It tickets.