• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Court is closed at date and time stated on ticket

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Ogin

What is the name of your state? Ohio

I was pulled over last night for speeding. The officer handed me my ticket and told me to appear in court on Tuesday at 5 pm. However, the date on the ticket is actually for Wed, 3-7-07, and on Wed the court closes at 4.

What happens now?

I do plan to fight this ticket in some manner, it is my first time being pulled over. Perhaps traffi school or a stay of judification because I am not a speed demon. I almost never speed unless traffic happens to be moving very fast.

My passenger in the car with me also stated that from her view, my speedometer read 60 and I understand this could have meant I was really going somewhere between 63-65 because of the angel she is looking at the speedometer, but that's not nearly close to the 75 I got cited for.

I am not blaming the officer, it's his job to make sure the roads are safe and if I really was going that fast, I thank him for calling it to my attention. However, I'm a very self aware and conscious driver and feel a little upset that for my first offense I'm getting punished so harshly. I would really like to keep my clean record, clean.

Thank you for all of your help.What is the name of your state?

BelizeBreeze

What is the name of your state? Ohio

I was pulled over last night for speeding. The officer handed me my ticket and told me to appear in court on Tuesday at 5 pm. However, the date on the ticket is actually for Wed, 3-7-07, and on Wed the court closes at 4.

What happens now?