• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

CVC22350 No Substantial Evidence

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Status
Not open for further replies.

FightIt83

First I just want to preface, that I'm not a lawyer, I personally don't have any closer friends who are lawyers. The only experience I've ever had in law is watching law movies, tv shows and plays.

I'm in Los Angeles, California and I was charged with California Vehicle Code 22350. The trial occured and the Judge found me guilty. I plan to appeal my case under the belief that there was no substantial evidence to find me guilty.

CVC 22350 state: No person shall drive a vehicle upon a highway at a speed greater than is reasonable or prudent having due regard for weather, visibility, the traffice on, and the surface and width of, the highway, and in no event at a speed which endanger the safety of persons or property.

There were three pieces of evidence used during this trial:

HARD EVIDENCE ~ The officer brought in papers showing he used a lazer gun clocking me at 55 miles per hour. He had documents that proved that the lazer gun had been maintained and checked recently. He had documents that proved he had been trained in using the equipment.

The other two pieces of evidence are HIS TESTIMONY and MY TESTIMONY.

The trial started with the police officer giving his opening statement, he described the basics. Folliwing his statment I questioned him. This was the questioning (summarized, as this was my first time going to court and fighting a case and I was nervous and stuttering.)

Me: Can you describe the weather?

Officer: It was a clear morning, it was not wet.

Me: What was the visibility like?