• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Disobey Sign: Illegal Turn from NYC 'Thru Street'

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Status
Not open for further replies.

YorkGuy

What is the name of your state? NY - New York

I made a turn from NYC 'Thru Street' during the prohibited time. Actually, I am new to NYC. I didn't aleady know that the street was 'Thru Street'. Furthermore the I couldn't see the signs saying so -- due to the large trucks, and sandwich shops on the sidewalk.

In this situation can I fight the ticket? This is what actually happened. Are there any other good reasons / justifications for such tickets?

You Are Guilty

YorkGuy said:
What is the name of your state? NY - New York

I made a turn from NYC 'Thru Street' during the prohibited time. Actually, I am new to NYC. I didn't aleady know that the street was 'Thru Street'. Furthermore the I couldn't see the signs saying so -- due to the large trucks, and sandwich shops on the sidewalk.

In this situation can I fight the ticket?
Jeez, not a good week for you huh? First the insurance ticket, now this? But you can fight any ticket you want. That is the beauty of this country.

This is what actually happened.
Thank you. Can you also tell us what didn't happen? (Hint: it has something to do with you complying with the "No Turns" sign.)

Are there any other good reasons / justifications for such tickets?
The City needs more money to pay the storage bill for keeping all the homeless/bums on Randall's Island.

YorkGuy

Yeah. It's difficult to drive in NYC.