• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Downgrading a Misdemeanor to Infraction

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Status
Not open for further replies.

sandman1983

I was issued a citation for going 15 mph in a 5 mph zone in my friend's boat (Code 655.2(a)). On the citation is said infraction but when I called the court they said it was a misdemeanor. My court date is set for 12/5. It was my first time taking the boat out (friend's boat) and my record is totally clean. I'm a medical student living in Boston and this happened in California.

Is there anything I can do to downgrade to an infraction? Hire a lawyer? Anything? Please help...this is the last thing I need before applying for residency

CdwJava

Here is the offense from the Harbors and Navigations Code:

655.2. (a) Every owner, operator, or person in command of any
vessel propelled by machinery is guilty of a misdemeanor who uses it,
or permits it to be used, at a speed in excess of five miles per
hour in any portion of the following areas not otherwise regulated by
local rules and regulations:
(1) Within 100 feet of any person who is engaged in the act of
bathing. A person engaged in the sport of water skiing shall not be
considered as engaged in the act of bathing for the purposes of this
section.
(2) Within 200 feet of any of the following:
(A) A beach frequented by bathers.
(B) A swimming float, diving platform, or lifeline.
(C) A way or landing float to which boats are made fast or which
is being used for the embarkation or discharge of passengers.
(b) This section does not apply to vessels engaged in direct law
enforcement activities which are displaying the lights prescribed by