• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Driving on private property to avoid a traffic signal or a stop sign

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

issc29

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? NJ

A couple of days ago i was doing a favor for a friend by dropping him off to school in NJ. I was given instruction to make a right after I exited to get back on the road to go to work. I accidentally made a right into a the back of a firehouse parking lot (looked like a regular street), so i exited on the other side and made a right on that street. A cop pulled me over and cited "N.J.S.A 39:4-66.2, Driving on private property to avoid a traffic signal or a stop sign". Being a NY driver, I was not familiar with the streets and had no intention of avoiding an intersection. I am also required to show up in court. If i plead Not Guilty, showing to the judge pictures that it looked like a regular street, do you think i can win? And if not, what would be considered a good deal in a plea bargain?

Zigner

Senior Member, Non-Attorney
Another way to look at it is that you were not avoiding the traffic control device (signal/sign), rather, you were avoiding the entire street! The law seems to allow for that ;)

Is a firehouse private property? If yes, what do you think the chances are that the police officer will bring evidence of that to court? If you have the time to go to court for a trial, you might get lucky on that issue.

Zigner

Again, if the OP were using the road to avoid the STREET, then he did NOT violate the section he was charged with...think about it ;)

justalayman