• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Driving with Suspended License - Not DUI related..

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

R

rpgtr225

What is the name of your state? Louisiana

I am have been charged with driving on a suspended license in Jefferson
Parish of Louisiana. I have no felonies on my record. Only traffic
violations. I did not get a DWI or DUI, and I received the suspension from
failure to pay a ticket and during a period of depression and anxiety.
I am currently a college student at a prestigious university. I have a letter requesting leniency from two doctors a
psychiatrist and psychologist, both of which I am under their care, and
proof that I am in school full-time. My license has since been
re-instated and I have paid all fines in accordance. I was wondering what would
the possibility be of the court giving me jail time?
The trial date is on 11/8

W

wanaagnes

I don't know how it is in your state,,but here in my state I had a similar situation. Right after the incident I paid all the fines to get my license reinstated went to court talked to the DA and pleaded ignorance, said the DMV did not inform me. Also went to the DMV and got my abstract that proved that I paid all the fines right after I got stopped. I was nice and respectful with the DA. He reduced it to a revoked charge I think,,,,I pleaded guilty and just had to pay like $50. I lucked out.

Your pleads for leniency are ok but you should have something that shows that you made amends for your infraction. Be humble, respectful, don't look like you have $, if the DA is not an ass he will be cool with you, good luck

K

Kaz the Minotau