• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Driving while license revoked?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

S

svevans75

I'm a NC resident. I have a prior DWI conviction. I was charged in Aug. 2004, and convicted in Jan. 2005 of a Level 5 DWI. Did ADETS, paid a small fine, wrote a book report, had a limited privilege, not a terribly big deal. Back in November of 2007, I made the bonehead decision to drive drunk. I'm guilty, it's garden variety, lawful stop, odor of alcohol, I consented to breathalizer...yada, yada. But my question relates to a driving while license revoked charge that accompanied the DWI charge.

The officer charged me with DWLR because I violated the BAC restriction of 0.04, a consequence of the prior DWI.

I have an excellent lawyer. He's an excellent "trial lawyer," but I'm not sure he's giving me my money's worth with some of the technical aspects of the law. Since I'm a researcher for a living, I've dug around a bit and here's what i discovered.