+ Reply to Thread
    blau is offline Member

Exact requirements for radar calibration.

What is the name of your state? California.

Hello,

I was pull over for speeding. The CHP said “he caught me on radar” going 72mph in a 55 zone charged me with 22349 (b).

I did an informal discovery and got what they called their “calibration”. I am a California state certified Engineer. In my opinion there are a number of things they did wrong on their calibration.

I want to know when the police use radar to determine your speed what are their minimum requirements for using the radar. If possible could you site your legal authority so that I can repeat it at trial.

I did a search on all California law the only law that reference calibration requirements for radar per CVC 40802(c)(1): List below. However, this section is under the “speed trap” law, of course, the chp in trial will argue that these requirements don’t apply to them because it is only for “speed traps”. Maybe I am not interperting this correctely what do you guys think.

(A) When radar is used, the arresting officer has successfully
    completed a radar operator course of not less than 24 hours on the
    use of police traffic radar, and the course was approved and
    certified by the Commission on Peace Officer Standards and Training.

(B) When laser or any other electronic device is used to measure
    the speed of moving objects, the arresting officer has successfully
    completed the training required in subparagraph (A) and an additional
    training course of not less than two hours approved and certified by
    the Commission on Peace Officer Standards and Training.
    (C) (i) The prosecution proved that the arresting officer complied
    with subparagraphs (A) and (B) and that an engineering and traffic
    survey has been conducted in accordance with subparagraph (B) of
    paragraph (2). The prosecution proved that, prior to the officer