• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Failed to obey the instructions of an applicable official traffic control device

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Brianstern12

let me start by saying I am 38 years old and have 0 tickets in my life. I drive for a living 60-70000 miles a year. I consider myself a safe, responsible, alert and aware driver.

Tonight around 9:45pm, I rounded a bend (moving right to left) and approached an intersection. I noticed a state trooper suv sitting off to the right with his parking lights on. I put on the brakes and eased through the intersection (did not stop). The trooper turned his lights on and pulled me over. I did not see the stop sign as I seen the trooper sitting there. I Was aware of his presence. Continued on the road (No one else was on the road).

I'll finish with this: he went easy on me as he could have given me points for blowing the stop sign. He gave me the proverbial get out of jail free card. But it's a $170.00 ticket. Again I have a perfect driving record up until tonight's incident. Should I contest the ticket? Can I win? Any advice or logic? Thanks.

FlyingRon

You don't appear to have any basis to contest the ticket. By your own admission you blew the stop sign. Pennsylvania magistrates aren't push overs usually.

Brianstern12

Ticket