• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Failure to yield to a pedestrian... Can I fight this?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

lashane2

Hello! I am a resident of Maryland and was visiting California this past summer. I received a ticket for overtaking a stopped vehicle attempting to yield to a pedestrian in an unmarked crosswalk. I was following someone else (as I am unfamiliar with the area) and was traveling North with a green light and the pedestrian was crossing from west to east. I'm wondering if this is something I should consider fighting? Please Help!:confused:

seniorjudge

I was charged under 21951.
Whenever any vehicle has stopped at a marked crosswalk or at any unmarked crosswalk at an intersection to permit a pedestrian to cross the roadway the driver of any other vehicle approaching from the rear shall not overtake and pass the stopped vehicle.

What do the cops say you did to violate this?

Facts, details, info....

lashane2

It just so happens that the stopped vehicle was in fact the officer who gave me the ticket. The pedestrian (who I never saw) must have been crossing the street to the left of the officer, as I was in the far right lane next to him.

lashane2

I had a freelance job that day and I was the last car in the caravan (if you will). I went through the light and the officer stopped me a few blocks later.

Zigner

Senior Member, Non-Attorney
If the pedestrian was crossing on a red (for him), I think you have a good chance of beating this one.
With that said - are you going to travel from MD to CA to fight this?

You would be allowed to do a trial by declaration, but I doubt that you would be successful if you went that route.

lashane2