• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Failure to Yield to a Stationary Emergency Vehicle - Washington

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

lilyvine118

I have already requested to contest a ticket I received and I would like some advice on the matter. I am an Oregon resident, and I was living near Seattle for a while and driving home. I was ticketed in Vancouver for "Failure to Yield to a Stationary Emergency Vehicle"

The police car was over on the left shoulder with no other cars. It was an undercover car trying to merge, but I couldn't tell with his other tail lights flashing. I was not speeding, but I slowed down when I saw him. I could have gotten over, but I realized it a little too late and just slowed down. However, he was not stationary and was going about 10mph in the shoulder trying to merge. I don't know if I'm admitting to something bigger by saying that, but he was not stationary. He pulled me over and after I gave him my Oregon information he said "it's been a law longer in Oregon than in Washington so you should know it by now" and went back and printed the ticket. If I don't win then I tried, but I feel that it was an odd circumstance and the ticket was not true to the situation. How can I help my case and what are my chances of success?

Washington Law
RCW 46.61.212