• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Got CA VC 12500(a) Misdemeanor ticket for driving without license.?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

kineticfs

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? California.

I've recently got this CA VC 12500(a) ticket in California.
I had a valid Washington State's Driver's License at the time I was pulled but the police officer
issued me this ticket anyways.

I am a resident of Washington but lived in California more than 6 months to help my father's business. Registration and the insurance on the car that I was driving is under my father's (main) and my (sub) name.

My problem is that my status in U.S is currently undocumented status.
(As you may know, undocumented immigrants are legally able to obtain drivers license in the state of Washington.)
However, all of my family members, including my father, have green cards (So they are legally staying in U.S)

My court date is coming soon and I would like to take care of this issue before I go back to Washington.

So my question is, would my undocumented status effect any of my jury decision?
Do I have to tell them that I'm an undocumented immigrant?
Would I be able to just plead guilty and pay off the fine without telling them that I am an undocumented immigrant?

I am really worried about this...
Can someone please help me with this issue??

FlyingRon