• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Got two tickets in Texas, I'm registered in Oklahoma, need some serious advice fast!

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

HypeTelecon

My insurance, car registration and driver's license are all issued from Oklahoma.

I am a student going to school in Texas, and I had the unfortunate event of receiving two traffic tickets almost back to back.

The first ticket was for going through the HOV lane in Dallas, TX on 635-West without having more than one person in my car. I had no idea what an HOV lane was and I was just following the directions displayed on my GPS. I later found out that my GPS was configured to expect that there would be 2 or more people in the car so it thought it was ok to send me down the HOV lane.

The second ticket was all my fault. I wasn't paying attention and I got tagged doing 85 in a 60 down 161-North in Irving, TX. I knew I was speeding, but I was shocked to see that I was doing 25 over.

I am really scared about the speeding ticket, because I think if you are caught doing 25 mph or over the posted speed limit it is considered reckless driving, at least in Texas.

I'm 22, and these will be my first traffic tickets EVER. Do I have any hope of getting either of these dismissed? I know the problem is probably compounded by having an Oklahoma driver's license, and this will probably make me ineligible to take defensive driving. If I pay these tickets, will they affect my insurance rates since my insurance is in Oklahoma and I got the tickets in Texas?

Can anyone help me out and give me some advice on how to handle this situation? I'm really freaked out right now.

HypeTelecon said: