• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Headlight off San diego - Notice to appear

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

milapshah15

Hi All,

what happened is this.

- At 10 PM I came out of target and started for my home which is 1 mile away.After driving 0.2 miles , Cop pulled me over for headlights off citation
- I thought it would be a normal fine ticket which I would pay online
- But it was notice to appear.I got surprised.I am new to california and still have illinois license.
- they have given me time till 2 months to appear to the court.

Please let me know how i should proceed

Some questions and facts

- I have Illinois license and number plate.I thought of going to to DMV this week to get both of them changed.Should I still proceed for that and then finish this court matter(as my deadline is till Oct 22 2015)?
- What would be the fine ?
- 3 months back I went to Seattle and got speeding ticket (10 mph over) and I did not take traffic school that time as not aware of that
- Do I need to go to the court or wait for courtesy notice?

Any help and direction would be much appreciated as I am not that experienced in all these.

Warm regards,
Milap

FlyingRon

What were you actually charged for? The headlight violation or failure to have a California license/registration?
If you were charged with the latter, I'd definitely get my license and car registered in California and see if the judge will allow it to be a "correctable" violation. A correctable violation reduces it to $25 and no points.
Ohtherwise the failure to register is $197 and the failure to have a license is between $238 and $408 depending on just what they charged you with.