• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Improper Race on CT Complaint Ticket - Failure to obey red light

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

NY-student

I am a New York resident. I was visiting relatives in Connecticut and went through a yellow light and was pulled over for failure to obey a red light.

There was no shoulder and it was a busy street, the Boston Post Road rte 1. I turned on my hazard lights and went a block and pulled into a bus stop lane. The officer was extremely angry that I didn't stop immediately. He was very rude too.

I didn't argue with him. Aftewards I noticed that on the Complaint Ticket he had written "w" for raise. My parents are South Asian, and I am clearly not white.

I sent in a "not guilty" response on the ticket and have a date to "discuss your case with a member of the office of the state's attorney...if the matter is not resolved at this court appearance, a future date for a court trial will be assigned"

Two issues:

1) What is the significance of the race box and the fact that the officer marked it incorrectly?

2) How best should I proceed? What will the member of the office of the State's attorney offer me for a deal? Should I take it to a court trial?

ANY advice/info would be greatly appreciated!

JETX

NY-student said:
1) What is the significance of the race box and the fact that the officer marked it incorrectly?
None. It is simply a method for a jurisdiction to track the race of cited drivers... if they want to.

2) How best should I proceed?
Depends. If you are going to plead guilty, do so. If you are going to try to offer a defense, do so.

What will the member of the office of the State's attorney offer me for a deal?