• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Interstate tickets

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

smcsheriff

What is the name of your state? CALIFORNIA

Hello. I was pulled over in the state of Colorado and was given a ticket worth of 10 points of violations. 6 points for speeding, and 4 points for making a pass in a posted "do not pass" zone. The state police was on the opposite side of the freeway when he "saw me" committing such acts. I have never before travelled to Colorado, and it was my first time driving in that area. This is my second ticket I have ever recieved. I am a California resident. I was wondering : are all 10 points going to be transferred to my california driving record? Can I take traffic school to dramatically reduce the number of points? Is it possible to argue against this ticket? I am considering hiring an attorney to subpeona any evidence ( Radar, notes, video or audio footage) Court date is May 3rd

My first ticket:: Also, I recieved a ticket for going 55 in a 50 MPH zone in RENO NEVADA. (I am an unlucky person, Lol) is it possible to have this one dismissed? 55 in a 50 is the weakest and most ridiculous ticket I have ever heard or seen. (will these points as well transfer to my california driving record) (court date is march 29)

If i take traffic school, should i apply it to my 55 in a 50 in NV or my 10 pt ticket in Colorado?

DRTDEVL

For the first ticket, whatever point value CA deems fit for the offense is what transfers. Every state has their own point value, so you need to find out what the DMV assesses (probably not 10 points, unlees it was some real serious stuff).