• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Missouri & WI - points, reciprocity?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Steamboat2009

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Missouri

Please excuse my general ignorance regarding points. This is my second speeding ticket --my first was in 2001 in WI when I lived there- it was $75.

Ticket Scenario:
Currently I am a resident of Missouri & have a MO driver's license. I was in WI last week for business & pleasure and was pulled over in my rental car with MO plates. I was cited for going 20 mph over the speed limit -- 75 in a 55. The deputy gave me a $229 ticket and let me on my way, but he also explained that he really should have been "booking" me since 20 mph over the posted speed limit is considered a reckless driving offense. My ticket indicates an Adopting State Statute of 346.57 (4) (h).

I asked the officer about points. He explained that WI and MO do not have "reciprocity" ---- I am not sure exactly what this is--something about MO not being a neighboring state of WI---, but after asking him more about it, it sounded as though he was saying this: even though my speeding ticket indicates and estimated 6 points, because I have a MO drivers license, MO may not show 6 points on my MO record.

My questions:
Is this really a "reckless driving" offense?
-I looked up the statute and all 346.57(h)(4) seems to indicate is speeding in a posted 55 mph zone. The reckless driving part comes up in association with points.

SOoooo.....if it is true that MO & WI do not have point reciprocity then will the "reckless driving" offense be communicated to MO, and therefore affect my insurance rates?​
I have had no tickets in MO.