• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

New York speeding ticket - what are my options and likely results?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

stuckwaiting

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? State: NY

I'm a California resident, with a California drivers' license. I was visiting NY for a week and got a speeding ticket while trying to rush to the airport in a rental car. The ticket was for going 80 in a 65 zone and the officer's statement says that the speed was verified by a laser.

The officer stopped me while I was doing 5; he said that he had recorded me doing 83 a while back, but I can't pinpoint where he said that he was. I've had a perfect driving record for the past 12 years.

I need to decide between pleading guilty, pleading not guilty and handling it myself and pleading not guilty and hiring a lawyer.

I need to figure out:

1) The total cost if I plead guilty. There is no fine amount listed on the ticket
1b) I find the lack of fine amount suspicious; it makes me think that they expect people to plead guilty in expectation of a $100 fine and then bill them $5000 in the end.

2) How many points would end up on my license. Will NY put points on my C.A license? How much would this add to my current "perfect driver" insurance rates? How long would it stay on?

3) What my chances are of either getting found not guilty or getting the level of speeding reduced if I plead not guilty.

4) If can plead not guilty and have a lawyer appear in my place (since I live in CA)

5) If there are any traffic school or volunteer time arrangements that I can make to keep the ticket from appearing on my record or minimize the amount of the fine.

Any info?

xylene