• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

NJ Statute 39:3-74

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

JakeTB16

I am a NY driver. One day, while driving in NJ, I was issued two tickets. One, for going 40 in a 30mph zone, and another, for having a window mounted GPS unit, which apparently is in violation of NJ Statute 39:3-74.

The statute itself states:
Every motor vehicle having a windshield shall be equipped with at least one device in good working order for cleaning rain, snow or other moisture from the windshield so as to provide clear vision for the driver, and all such devices shall be so constructed and installed as to be operated or controlled by the driver.

No person shall drive any motor vehicle with any sign, poster, sticker or other non-transparent material upon the front windshield, wings, deflectors, side shields, corner lights adjoining windshield or front side windows of such vehicle other than a certificate or other article required to be so displayed by statute or by regulations of the commissioner.

No person shall drive any vehicle so constructed, equipped or loaded as to unduly interfere with the driver's vision to the front and to the sides.
Neither paragraph one, nor paragraph two of the statute apply, as the ticket is not for the absence of a windshield wiper, and there was never a non-transparent object upon my front windshield. The only object on my windshield was the transparent suction cup attached to the GPS unit.

The third paragraph is completely objective, as there is no way for an officer, without sitting in my seat, to judge whether or not the GPS unit does so "unduly interfere" with my vision. As it so happens, it does not.