• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

No Distinctive plate / speeding

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

jcsports

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? NY

Driving in rural New york, i was pulled over by a state trooper for speeding. I'm a young driver, and he explained that I was being chared with a "No Distinctive Plate" as the license had one of the logo-ed brackets dealerships typically installed around the plate. On the Supporting Despostition under the additional info it states "The Vehicle was topped for traveling 55 in a 40 mph zone." Does the 'mean' / change anything on the charge?

Also, what is the typical fine for this?

Many thanks in advance

I_Got_Banned

"The Vehicle was topped for traveling 55 in a 40 mph zone." Does the 'mean' / change anything on the charge?
Well, it could also mean the "initially" he/she stoppoed you for speeding, noticed the plate violation and either cited you for both, or decided to give you a break by only citing you for the plate.

What VAT code(s) is/are listed on the citation?

I_Got_Banned

4021 - under "Section Sub Section"
Actually, it is Section 402, subsection 1... Or 402.1
§ 402. Distinctive number; form of number plates; trailers.