• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

No-Operator License Ticket ?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

NABK

What is the name of your state? NC

I go this citation right outside the DMV in NC :(

My wife had to take the driver's test and I was driving her car. I had a VALID DL from my country ( we are non-US citizens). The cop stopped us initially for a missing sticker, which ofourse we had and he did not charge us with anything.
When asked for the license I showed him the Foreign license. Then , out of nowhere , I also showed him my PA license which expired 4 years ago . I was a student here in US 4 years ago and left the country in 2002. So there was no way I could get a US license after that.
My license formy home country worked well everytime I rented a car or drove around.
Anyway, the we still got a ticket. : Driving without a valid license.

My wife still works and drives here. So I would not like to get trouble for her or in my future visits.
We also tried to get another DL here in NC but they would only issue one for 3 months because of my visitor visa.

Shall we get a lawyer or just explain this in the court ?
Any other advice would be greatly appreciated !

Thanks

seniorjudge

NABK said:
What is the name of your state? NC

I go this citation right outside the DMV in NC :(

My wife had to take the driver's test and I was driving her car. I had a VALID DL from my country ( we are non-US citizens). The cop stopped us initially for a missing sticker, which ofourse we had and he did not charge us with anything.