• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

No turn signal in a turning lane

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

doughboy0311

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Louisiana

I just got a ticket for not using a turning signal to make a turn when in a lane where the you have to turn. Isn't it a bit redundant to signal that you are turning when there is no other option? If I didn't turn I would have run into the median. What are my chances of trying to fight this? I have to try, I'm a broke college student.

FlyingRon

It may seem redundant, but it is required that you do so. Oncoming traffic can't always tell what the lane restrictions are.

You're guilty, but you could go to court and try for the sympathy of the judge.

Last edited:

Zigner

Senior Member, Non-Attorney
There is no oncoming traffic. Its a median.
Ok, let's make it simple...

It may seem redundant, but it is required that you do so.

You're guilty, but you could go to court and try for the sympathy of the judge.

(Thanks Ron)

I_Got_Banned

What statute were you cited for?

Was it LRS 32:104?

If that is the case, then here you go:

Louisiana Revised Statute •Title 32. Motor vehicles and traffic regulation
§104. Turning movements and required signals
A. No person shall turn a vehicle at an intersection unless the vehicle is in proper position upon the roadway as required in R.S. 32:101, or turn a vehicle to enter a private road or driveway, or otherwise turn a vehicle from a direct course or move right or left upon a roadway unless and until such a movement can be made with reasonable safety.