• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Notice to Appear--Informal Hearing in Michigan

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

mringnal

I am a Michigan resident who received a citation for disregarding a red light in late December. I have scheduled a court date and intend to plead not guilty. I have done a lot of research and believe I have a good case that will result in a not guilty verdict. My court date, according to the Notice to Appear that I received in the mail, is scheduled for this Thursday, 2/2/06. Yesterday, 2 days before my court date, I received a message on my home phone telling me that the court would like to reschedule the hearing because the officer cannot make the scheduled hearing time. The message indicated that I would receive notification in the mail in the next week. I want to know if I am within my rights to appear for my originally scheduled date and time and expect a hearing. I would then expect the case to be dismissed since the officer is unable to appear. It seems to me an official notice to appear is more legally binding than a phone message. Plus, getting off work for the scheduled time was a hassle to begin with.

sukharev

The phone message is a curtecy, and you will get appropriate notice in the mail. Both you and the government are entitled to continuances, when good cause is shown. Don't even try to show up in court and ask for dismissal, you would only angry the judge (if you even get to speak to him).

mringnal

Continuances...