• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

NY: Driving with a learner's permit

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Adamn

I've been a great driver for the past year and a half.

I was recently pulled over for having a "loose front license plate," which is crooked by about 15 degrees. It was Monday morning at 1:30 AM, with a licensed driver in the passenger's seat, who was 23. I am currently 21.

I was harassed by a police officer who continued to question me, pointing to a fruit soda Goya bottle and claiming alcohol was in it, ending with a full search of my vehicle.

Unfortunately, I do not have a full license, not as a result of suspension, but due to lack of a license. I was charged with something along the lines of an improperly attached front license plate, and driving without a license.

First and foremost, what are the ramifications of the "driving without a license" charge? If I plead guilty, I am aware of the $75 - $300 fine. Are there any other faults applied?

Secondarily, if I plead not guilty, this having been my first offense for anything, and assuming I have the court date pushed back far enough so as that I do have my license at that point, can I get the charges dropped?

Tertiarily, what would be the ramifications of getting a second ticket for driving without a license?

Any help is sincerely appreciated.

- Adam

You Are Guilty

I've been a great driver for the past year and a half.

I was recently pulled over for having a "loose front license plate," which is crooked by about 15 degrees. It was Monday morning at 1:30 AM, with a licensed driver in the passenger's seat, who was 23. I am currently 21.