• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

NYC cell phone + driving

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

onetime

What is the name of your state? Queens, New York
Infraction: talking on cell phone while driving

subject: Am I not guilty? What would be the process for proving my innocence?

I was driving while talking on my cell phone in queens new york. I admitted my guilt and ignorance of the law. I was given a ticket.

I am a resident in internal medicine and was talking to another resident in internal medicine (I called her Cell Phone) at the time of the violation. Pursuant to New York Law VAT: Article 33, § 1225-c: " 3. Subdivision two of this section shall not apply to (a) the use of a mobile telephone for the sole purpose of communicating with any of the following regarding an emergency situation: an emergency response operator; a hospital, physician's office or health clinic."

Therefore my primary question is: am I not guilty? And how do I go about showing this? What proof is required on my part (ie. I am a doctor, I was tallking to another doctor)?

Secondary questions include:
1) the officer listed my middle name as my first name on the ticket- is this a problem?
2) Is the process for pleading Not Guilty a long process which requires much time and energy? If I submit a not guilty plea notice (on the back of the ticket), do I write a letter explaining my situation as well?

Thank you.

You Are Guilty

What is the name of your state? Queens, New York
Infraction: talking on cell phone while driving

subject: Am I not guilty? What would be the process for proving my innocence?