• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Passing School bus violation

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

gkn2003

What is the name of your state? Minnesota

Hi,

Today I made a blunder mistake because of my unawarness. I am new to this country and driving. today morning a school bus flashing red light stopped on the opposite lane. but i haven't stopped for that school bus. Immediately a police men has given a ticket and asked me come to court on a given date.

Reason why i am not stopped for that school bus, I thought the road as separated lane, so on the drivers manual they mentioned as if the road has separated lane then the opposite side lane drivers are don't want to stop for the school bus. But after getting my ticket only i came to know that we can't pass over the school bus even though its separated lane. Roadway should have a median to pass a school bus.

Please anyone can tell me what i have to do. to ask excuse or to avoid my driver license suspension.

Please respond.

Thanks,
gkn

quincy

In Minnesota, the penalties for passing a school bus that has the red lights blinking and the stop sign out are $300 to $3000 in fines and/or one year in jail, and suspension of your driver's license. The reason the law takes this violation so seriously is that children's lives are in jeopardy if cars do not stop. I suppose you could plead ignorance of the law, which never, or to my knowledge never, works, or ask for leniency. The court might consider a restricted license, instead of a full suspension of driving privileges, that would allow you to get to and from work, but I doubt that all penalties will be waived.

TinkerBelleLuvr