• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Question about speed trap

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

toyirkfm

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? CA

Okay. Here is my situation.
I got a ticket for speeding 77mph for 60mph limit zone.
The officer used laser. And I submitted TBD and lost.
So I requested trial de novo. My trial date has been set one month after. This is my first time to get a ticket and fight in court. The citation I've been charged was 22349(a).

So the first thing that I've searched for was speed survey and visited city hall.
And I found the critical speed to be 65.4mph and there was no justification to lower speed limit.(And base on MUTCD, the speed limit should be established at the nearest 10 km/h (5 mph) increment to(not below! that was for old edition!) the 85th percentile speed, which means the speed limit should be 65mph base on survey) Also, base on the speed limit, more than 50% of surveyors were violating speed limit.

So what I am going to do is point out that there was speed trap base on the above facts. But I am not so sure where I need to bring this issue. Do I need to bring this during my cross examination?

Also, I am not so sure if I should take on stand since I am afraid if anything I answer would act against me.

Still, some people told me that the speed trap law cannot be used for 22349(a) because of VC 40802 (C) (ii) which states that "The prosecution proved the speed of the accused was unsafe for the conditions present at the time of alleged violation unless the citation was for a violation of Section 22349, 22356, or 22406."